Day 21 – Wet and (not-so-much) Wild

The average North American adult, I assume, bathes or showers at least once a day.  It’s something we barely even think about anymore, becoming as routine as eating or sleeping.    But there are a few groups of people whose bathing routinely gets interrupted, altered or altogether forgotten.  I am a member of one such group – MOMS.

Since Alexandra-Joy was born almost 2 and a half years ago, showering has always been a chore on the same level as filling the dishwasher and tidying up toys.  There are so many more things to do in my day that take precedence.  I rarely shower at the same time of day from one day to the next.  Many months have been spent sharing my showers with a baby in a bouncy chair, a baby monitor or a toddler walking in on me.   And, on more than one occasion, I’ve been instants away from slumber when I realise I didn’t shower at all (gasp!).

What the average adult takes completely for granted, Moms look forward to and cherish.  While most 9-5 jobs have mandatory coffee breaks, Mom’s coffee “break” (and I use the term loosely) can  involve hugging a toddler with one hand and preventing the baby from grabbing the coffee mug with the other.  The same goes for showers and baths.

So today, with my husband home on his day off, I had a shower.  Alone.  In the morning.  After breakfast.  Like “regular” people.  It was only a 5 minute shower, but it was blissful.  No one interrupted me.  I couldn’t hear any cries over the rush of water.  I turned the temperature up because there was no toddler at my feet that could get scalded.   I breathed deeply and appreciated every drop that ran down my back.  I inhaled the perfume of my cheap drug store shampoo like it was ambrosia.  Gorgeous.  Simple. but completely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

