Day 38 – Rockin’

Rocking chairs have magical powers.

When I was pregnant with my first baby, my grandmother insisted on buying me a rocking chair. At first I felt bad because it was quite an expense. But I’ve been in love with it ever since.

It supported me through hours of colicky cries.
It helped me when I was learning to breastfeed.
It served as a hiding spot and as a reading chair.
And today, before Beatrice’s nap, we rocked together in the chair. Next thing I knew, ten minutes had passed and Bea was sound asleep. I must have dozed off too. I woke up feeling all warm and fuzzy. Rested. Comfy.

And for once in a long time, I didn’t want to put her down. I longed for those early parenting days where 90% of your job was related to holding them and nothing else mattered. No other jobs. No other commitments. Just enjoying being a mom.

I don’t do that nearly enough. I should do that more often.
Yep, rocking chairs have magical powers.

One thought on “Day 38 – Rockin’

  1. I’ve started collecting them. S thinks I’m insane. the big problem is the glide rocker. It’s ugly as sin. Comfortable as hell. 😉

Leave a Reply

