Day 82 – Throwing Stuff Into a Pot

I have loved baking ever since I was a kid.  I remember my mom letting me raid the spice rack and baking cupboard so I could come up with my own special concoctions.  I still have vivid memories of some foul almond-essence smelling green liquid I “cooked” but never tasted.

I’ve become a foodie as an adult.  Though my tastes aren’t particularly adventurous, I enjoy testing out new recipes.  I’ve always followed them diligently with great results (if I do say so myself)… until now.

The other day, I just threw stuff into a pot and made magic… twice!  I seem to have finally developed the ability to be able to cook using my own ideas and measurements without depending on a cookbook to guide me.  It’s not like I reinvented the wheel.  I just made chicken soup and jam (not in the same pot at the same time, of course) but it was so freeing.

And because someone asked, here’s one of the recipes… if you can even call it that.  I don’t think it takes much magic to make jam in a bread maker,  but I’ll still take credit for the good results nonetheless.

Pear and strawberry jam

– Roughly chop two handful of strawberries and two ripe pears.

– Add  fruit to the bread maker pan

– Add about 2/3 of a cup of sugar, 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and 1/2 a package of pectin.

– Start bread maker – making sure it’s on the “jam” setting… duh.

– Patiently wait about 1h30 minutes.

– Enjoy hot jam!  Or let it cool and refrigerate for later enjoyment.

One thought on “Day 82 – Throwing Stuff Into a Pot

  1. I am pleased to hear that you have good memories of certain things from your childhood. I am pretty sure that most Mom’s do not retain all this joy. So try to savour the little everyday moments with your little ladies.

Leave a Reply

