Day 122-123 – Smells Like Theatre

Day 122 – Upon entering the Black Box Theatre at the Shenkman with my pre-teen students, one of them remarked : “It smells gross in here.”  That came as a surprise to me, because I didn’t notice anything smelling gross.   Instead, I thought it smelled good.  I may be weird here but I find theatres have a particularly distinctive smell, one that I always feel very at home in.  Melting gels.  Dusty wings.  New plastic seats.  Freshly painted Masonite.     I could go on and on.  And I love it all.

Day 123 – When I have AJ a hug today before heading out to work, she said “You hair look nice mommy.”  I guess it was her personal Random Compliment Day today and I got to benefit from it.

Leave a Reply

