Day 164-187 – The Joy of Fringe (a photo post)

First of all, apologies for the excessively overdue post.  I had every intention of keeping up with my blog during the beast that was thel 2010 Ottawa Fringe Festival, but the excitement (and exhaustion) got to me.

This past month of June was the biggest in the history of my career.  I may not have made my directorial début at Stratford, but being the big boss behind what I feel is one of the best festivals in Ottawa was a huge event for me.  The Fringe helped launch my career in the first place.  I was (and am still!) honored to be its current Executive Producer.

I barely had time to breathe after our media launch on June 1st and my busy-ness factor only went up as the weeks progressed.  I was working 15 hours days most of the time.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed every minute of it but I’m grateful now for the down time so I can think back on how amazing the experience was.

So now, for your viewing pleasure, here’s a photo post of just some of the beauty that was the 2010 Ottawa Fringe Festival.

Posters for Fringe productions on the fence outside Arts Court.

The normally quiet office is insanely busy during the festival itself. The craziness makes me happy.

Past Executive Producer Kevin Waghorn passing on the torch on opening night.

The Ottawa Fringe has the best volunteers. And I dare anyone to disagree with me.

Seeing Miss Hiccup in full costume and makeup always brought a smile to my face.

Cat and Brad brought laughter, information, promotion, sexiness and silliness in one big bundle called Chats with Cat Hosted by Brad.

Not only is Jon Lockhart an amazing Technical Director, but he is the greatest at creating a good photo-op!

Kilts are awesome.  Volunteers and Fringe technicians wearing kilts are even better.

Three beautiful people that I loved seeing on a daily basis: Julie (Volunteer Coordinator), Lindsay Sutherland Boal (from Purely Cabaret) and Zelda (volunteer extraordinaire).

Cat and Brad - The Dance Off

Andrew Snowdon live streaming a chat with Tania Levy. Even if people couldn't make it to the festival, they could still feel a part of it.

While I was running around in jeans and my staff t-shirt, my good friend Thea was looking fierce!

The Courtyard was alive on a couple of nights thanks to the Canterbury High School motown band Otis Lives.

My heart filled with joy at the sound of the Mini-Fringers having fun during their drama camp with Orleans Young Players.

Line-ups = bums in seats = happy artists = happy producer

The beautiful Heather-Marie at the closing presentation of the Lunchtime Artist Series.

Me and Pierre, a beautifully talented designer and technician and all around good guy.

I made it on the highly coveted Cat's Crushes list.

One of the perks of being the boss is that I get to make cool announcements, with people waiting on my every breath.

Being able to publicly thank people who saved my behind on multiple occasions is a beautiful thing.

Ottawa Tonite live streamed the closing ceremonies.

I remember this moment vivdly. It was just after I announced the conclusion of the festival. I felt like my knees were going to go out from underneath me. I wanted to laugh and cry all at the same time.

Probably my favorite moment of the whole festival. Beatrice and I enjoying some quiet time while watching the Rock the Arts puppet show. I barely sat down during the Fringe, but I'm glad I took time out for this moment.

2 thoughts on “Day 164-187 – The Joy of Fringe (a photo post)

  1. These are great photos! Love them! And nice t-shirts this year! 😀 Congrats on all your hard work, Nat — the Ottawa Fringe is SO lucky to have you!!!
    xo,
    Amy

  2. I have been waiting for this post. I wish I could have shared some of those moments (live) with you. Your pictorial was a wonderful representation of what I am sure was a memorable experience for your family and your Ottawa Fringe family. Thanks for sharing.
    Hugs,
    Mom
    p.s. Do you know how proud I am of you?! Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

