Day 188-189 – Mindlessness

Day 188 – Stewart gave me the most appropriate post-festival present he could have given me: LEGO Harry Potter for the Wii. I know, this probably wasn’t what you were expecting, but it’s a beautiful thing to me.  After all the thinking, deciding, trying, expecting, anticipating and generally hard-working, this game is perfect for me.  It’s my love of Harry Potter + my love of games that are easy to play (i.e. involve lots of running around and shooting at random things) all in one easy package.  After a month of not being able to shut down my brain, this does the job perfectly.

Day 189 – I’ve found a new level of multitasking that I wasn’t able to do before – bathe the babies AND paint my toenails.  To all the single ladies out there this must seem ridiculous, but having kids can really cut into your personal grooming time.  And I also used to be too paranoid about being more than a few inches away from the bath to get anything done other than washing the kids.  But they’re a bit older now and as long as there are bubbles in the bath, they’re happy for at least 10 minutes… which means I’ve now found 10 minutes to myself (provided I spend that time in the bathroom, of course.)

Strange how moms find ways of being by themselves even when they’re surrounded with kids.  It kind of reminds me of a commercial for chocolate I once saw (or was it coffee?)… where the mom eats a piece of chocolate and all the sound of the chaotic children creating a mess simply fades away.

Mmmmmmmmpersonalgroomingtime.

Leave a Reply

