Day 247 – The Photojam

I was a very nervous kid.  I’d have panic attacks and butterflies in my stomach at the thought of staying overnight at my cousins’ house… and they only lived a block away!  Theatre and dance really brought me out of my shell and encouraged me to be more outgoing and social.  It’s been a long road, but I’m a much more confident adult than I ever was as a child or teen.

But still, going out, meeting new people and (gasp!) possibly making friends doesn’t come naturally to me.  That’s probably why I love the internet so much.  I’m gaining Twitter and Facebook friends fairly rapidly because I love to keep in touch and share my life and I don’t have to be worried of looking like too much of a douchebag.

I’ve recently becoming better acquainted with a lovely man, who through online appearances seems to have lovely friends.  One of them organises a photojam, on which you can find info here.   When I saw via Twitter that he openly invited people to attend and that it was a kid-friendly event, I asked if I could come.  So, I committed to hanging out with a bunch of people I didn’t know (minus the one that I did) to take pictures and talk photography (a subject I know very little about.)  Boy am I glad that I did.

I had such an amazing time.  Everyone there was so welcoming and friendly, not to mention talented, intelligent and funny.  (Justin’s wife Mel, aside from being gorgeous, is also a phenomenal cook.)  I ended up not bringing the little ones, but I wish I did because there were 5 kids between 7 months and 12 years running around.  I learned a lot.  I laughed a lot.  And I got some amazing photos of myself out of the deal.

Shy Natalie is no more.  I think I should really embrace Confident Natalie more often.  It can certainly pay off.

If you want to see the results of the photojam, check out the following Flickr pages:

Justin Van Leeuwen

David Hicks

Gordon Bonnar

Younes Bounhar

8 thoughts on “Day 247 – The Photojam

  1. aww! I would have been there as well if i didn’t have a prior commitment – it would have been lovely to meet you:).
    i have met some of my best friends through going out on a limb – glad you had a great time:).

  2. Almost fell off my chair when I read you were once a shy kid. You are one of the easiest people to talk to I’ve ever met. The photojam session is an awesome idea. I always think Alex, being so photo-genic and social, would love something like this. Thanks for sharing. Oh and beauiful shots, you have very talented (new) friends.

    • Oh Marc, you have no idea how awkward I was as a kid. When you met me, I was finally coming out of my shell. I remember coming home from school on many occasions and crying because I felt so alone. Being the only anglo in a franco school didn’t help my case, I’m sure. It was only though my parents’ help and theatre that I taught myself confidence. That little girl is still around sometimes, but not so much as she used to.

  3. I’ve experienced a similar transformation from shy, frightened child to a more outgoing adult. I’ve come to a place where I actually enjoy meeting new people; however, I do have this lingering anxiety about speaking with people on the telephone. Like you, I love Internetland for providing modes of communication that I’m more comfortable with.

    Also…I’ve said it before and I’ll keep saying it. You are STUNNING. You should always be having your photo taken.

Leave a Reply

