Day 262-263 – Looking Back

Day 262 –

Someone tagged a picture of me on Facebook that brought back beautiful memories.  When I was 16 (17?), I travelled to Spain with my dance troupe (and mother as one of the chaperones).  It was a huge learning experience for me.  Some of the most memorable moments include:

– Ordering a screwdriver at the hotel bar because I could say “vodka y naranja”… while my mother watched approvingly.

– Spontaneous dance lessons from various dancers from other countries at the festival.  The small community we built in the time we were there was fantastic.

– Dislocating my patella for the umpteenth time, but this time it compromised my ability to perform for the entire festival.  Luckily, there were doctors on site that were extremely helpful and I wasn’t in too much pain.  What made me most sad wasn’t the thought of not being able to dance at the performances, but it was being “responsible” and not going out dancing with my friends after hours.  I guess in the end, that experience helped form my work ethic for the rest of my career.

Day 263 –

My husband loves Canada for many reasons, but one that sticks in my head is that “Canada has so much sky!”  He’s referring to the prairies mostly, but still.  Driving on the highway today, looking forward I saw only blue skies.  Looking in my rearview mirror, all I could see was a beautiful gradation on reds and oranges and yellows.  Canada… happy to be here.

Leave a Reply

