Day 315 – Calm Before the Storm?

It’s 12:30pm.  I’m in the Ottawa Fringe Festival office.  And it’s quiet.

I mean, reeeeeaaaaalllllly quiet.  I’m the only one here.

And I’m calm.  Completely calm.  Kind of hungry.  More than a little tired.  But calm.

The 15th anniversary edition of my beloved festival started yesterday.  A year’s worth of hard work all comes down to 10 days of fantastic and fantastically awful theatre.

Normally I’d be panicky right now.  Run off my feet.  Needing to sit down but unable to.

But I’m not.

99% of my 20+ staff members have returned this year.  All of them work their butts off and love what they do.  Which means at this point in the process, I feel useless.  I have “nothing” to do, but watch it all unfold.

Though it’s eerie.  So many of my staff commented on how smoothly things are going.  How nothing has exploded yet.  How we all feel so calm.

So so calm.

I’m guarded.

And in love with my job.

 

One thought on “Day 315 – Calm Before the Storm?

Leave a Reply

