Day 316 – The Breather

The photograph below was taken by the Ottawa Fringe Festival’s Archival Photographer Andrew Alexander.  It’s incredibly special to me, because I can remember the moment so vividly.  It was three-quarters of the way through the festival.  I was going on my usual wander around the Courtyard, making sure everything was in order.  I remember stopping for two seconds and taking a breath… one that felt like the first deep breath I had taken since the beginning of the festival.  I looked around and realised that I hadn’t truly taken the time to appreciate all the hard work that went into making this festival possible, until that very moment.  I scanned  around me, soaking it all in, noticed my friend Andrew, and smiled.

Not only was this a pure moment of joy, but it got caught on “film” too!

 

2 thoughts on “Day 316 – The Breather

  1. I remember the first really successful “party/club night” I threw, years ago..

    At one point i just stood in the middle of the dancefloor, and just soaked in how much fun everyone else was having and felt high, although I was as sober as a nun

    Its one of those points of self-affirmation. You don’t need anyone else to tell you what a good job you are doing, as it speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

