Day 329 – C’est assez! (Or No More Hot Dogs!)

Some Twitter moms have recently made comments on my usage of the #lazymom hashtag saying that it devalues me… that I am a strong, confident and successful mom who shouldn’t focus on my low points.    While I use the #hashtag with tongue firmly planted in cheek 99%, the comments did make me reconsider the accuracy of the hashtag.

Rewind back to a couple of weeks ago.  Not long after I bought DD4’s backpack and lunchbox for school, I started thinking about the potential hell that is making school lunches and taking a closer look at what I was feeding my kids.  While my girls are happy and healthy balls of energy, I noticed that I was making the same boring things over and over again.  The meals were relatively balanced, sure, but they required little to no energy from me.  Furthermore, they certainly weren’t challenging my kids at all.  How the heck can I expect them to like curry as much as I do if I never make it for them?  How will they get used to different textures if they are always exposed to the same ones?   #lazymom was in full swing.

Cooking for one (+ 2 who maybe-might-probably-won’t eat it kids) is certainly not the easiest, but I completely forgot how much enjoyment I get out of being in the kitchen.  Not to mention that I essentially stopped taking care of myself and kept fueling the #lazymom machine with the same boring, bland foods that I fed the kids.

So I recently started making meal plans again.   Sure, there’s the still the occasional “pizza” and “hot dogs” on the list. Yes, it’s a challenge creating a meal that will have elements that hopefully everyone will enjoy.  And, yes, I often just let the kids eat yogurt and applesauce instead of what I’ve made.  They are trying new things… some of the time.   Though what I feel is just as valuable is that they are seeing me taking better care of myself.  They help me in the kitchen.  Mealtime is (sometimes… not always!) more fun now.  My diet is more varied and I’m slowly but surely gaining energy that has mysteriously gone missing.

I forgot how much I love food and that eating is not just something that’s on my to-do list. There’s a lot of untapped potential here and I am looking forward to see how this develops.

Besides, I’m a good cook.  I’ve been told so.  I’m a keeper!

#ubermom has been born.

 

PS.  Here are some links to what I’ve made recently.  I’m a bit in love with www.allrecipes.com and have been since university.  The site has a great search function and lots of variety.  It gets a huge amount of traffic and so reviews/comments are always helpful to decide if a recipe is risky or not.  It’s certainly not a perfect resource, but it’s been a huge help for me.

Guacamole Cilantro Lime Burgers

Sweet Potato Burritos

Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

My fav pizza sauce for when I want to be slightly less lazy than opening the freezer or picking up the phone.

Cherry tomato corn salad

A really easy Italian Dressing mix that you can use with oil/vinegar … mayo… or as a seasoning.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Day 329 – C’est assez! (Or No More Hot Dogs!)

  1. Bravo, c’est sur que ce n’est pas facile d’être tout le temps créatif et faire des repas santé qui plaisent aux enfants, on a ça aussi chez nous!!

  2. Cooking has never been my strong suit, so making interesting, healthy food for my son is a challenge for me as well.

    Recently, I’ve been motivated to incorporate more whole foods into my diet as one way to help relieve my depression. As a result, I’ve been experimenting with recipes. The Green Bean is old enough now that we can cook together. Half the time, he refuses to eat the meals we’ve made, but like you I’m hopeful that the (I hope) quality time spent preparing food together and the example I’m (trying to) set will translate into a healthy attitude towards food for my son in the long term.

Leave a Reply

