Day 359 – Smells Like…

Walking past the (freshly?) cut trees all in row outside of my grocery store.

The smell of pine wafting towards me.

Reminds me of being a kid, crawling under the Christmas tree to water it.

Coming out with sap and needles in my hair.

 

Volunteering in my eldest’s classroom.

Putting cloves into marshmallow snowmen.

Reminds me of my mom teaching me how to make pomanders.

Spicy orange-y perfume clinging to my hands.

 

Bringing a heavy pot of evaporated milk, sugar and butter to a boil.

Stirring constantly.

Reminds me of my Dad in the kitchen, making endless batches of Sucre à la crème.

Letting me be the expert taste-tester for each batch.

Leave a Reply

