#9 – Melanie

So I had a date with my friend Andrew to see a play at the University of Ottawa. This girl saw us in the lobby and essentially tagged along for the rest of the night. I didn’t mind. It’s theatre. It’s a social occasion. It’s not like we’re going to be talking during the performance. She seemed nice enough.

We were introduced. I found out she was doing the MA program at the U of O theatre department.

Huh. Bonus points in her favour.

Eventually we get to chatting and, I don’t remember the exact wording but, she said something like: “Oh, I know you. You directing that play I saw the other day. I didn’t like it at all.”

Huh. Well then.

Not one to miss an opportunity to debate with a fellow academic, we all went for beers after the play and had an amazing discussion about the play I had directed, about the form, about my directorial style and about our love of theatre. Turns out, she actually really enjoyed my direction. She just wasn’t a fan of the play itself.

Fair enough. Still, bonus points for the compliments. .

Our next major exchange occurred over makeup shopping at Sephora. And that’s all it took. Girlie stuffs and theatre… we left each other with hugs and “I love yous”.

I know good stock when I see it. Someone who challenges me, stimulates me, and makes me laugh.

That’s Mel.

And she’s got fierce rapping skills too. Don’t believe me? Check this out.

*girlcrush*

Leave a Reply

