#10 – Aron

After over two years of not seeing each other, we finally meet for coffee.

He uses the word “cunt” in one of his first stories, and then apologises for his language.

I laugh.  Has it been that long?  Has he forgotten who I am?  Cunt doesn’t bother me… neither does any of the other expletives he throws out at me during this storytelling.

Same old Aron.

We’re known each other since university.  I had a huge crush on him, though he never knew that.  (I guess he does now… if he reads this.)  I played both his lover and his mother, not in the same production of course.  It’s the lover role that I remember the most.

He was my Romeo.

My crush had vanished by then (no offense Aron) and was replaced with awe of his natural talent and spunk.   (The energetic/vibrant type… not the biological fluid type… though I never had first-hand knowledge of the second.)    We were couple together for classic scene study class: the famous R&J balcony scene.  I could tell Aron wasn’t pleased.  I don’t think he minded working with me, but I don’t think he saw himself as much of a romantic lead.

You see, Aron is a clown.  In all senses of the word.  Always has been. Normally I dislike clowns.  Correction:  I dislike BAD clowns.   Aron, I adore.  So you see how good he is at what he does.

Our scene finally clicked once our prof got us to see the nervous energy, the eagerness, and the humour in the scene.  Once it became fun to play, Aron couldn’t be stopped.

Funnily enough, he eventually performed the role for Company of Fools.  I was insanely jealous of his Juliet.  😉

Our paths have crossed a few times since then.  I did some silly choreography for one of his first clown shows in Ottawa.  But then he left town.  Went on to study in Italy.  Did his MFA in Calgary.  Went on to learn from some dude…. Philippe Gaulier or something.  He’s now working for Cirque du Soleil.  You might have heard of them.

Aron is a deeply intelligent, artistic, and passionate person.  He’s a creator in the grandest sense.

He’s worked around the world, and he’s still as grounded as he’s ever been.

And when I’m around him, I feel grounded too.

Aron and I in The Lark (2001)

5 thoughts on “#10 – Aron

  1. I loved your Juliet. …and although he would might not like to hear this but I always thought Aron was a cutie pie and definitely a master at flirting.

  2. I feel like I’ve won an award. And what an honour it is to be inducted into this virtual hall of fame among other such notable figures. Thank-you, Natalie for these kind and thoughtful words. My cheeks hurt from blushing.

    Love,

    Aron

  3. you guys!!! loved reading this [ when I was teaching, there would be torrid love affairs going on between students – did I notice? oh no, busy with the work] … you mean there’s life beyond the work….?

Leave a Reply

